Cantus Curatio VI (Healing Melody No.6)

Cantus Curatio VI (2010) for Violoncello written for Esra Celikten is dedicated to the victims (estimated three million people) affected by the 2010 Haiti earthquake, which occurred at 16:53 local time (21:53 UTC) on Tuesday, 12 January 2010.The Haitian Government reports that between 217,000 and 230,000 people had been identified as dead, an estimated 300,000 injured, and an estimated 1,000,000 homeless. The death toll is expected to rise.

The composition delineates the real, unmodified, and untransformed feelings of the victims and expresses hope. It consists of five movements that contrast one another in tempo, style, texture, and rhythm; however common pitch & melodic materials unify diversity. I hope this work can give them a moment to receive comfort and hope.

I. Agony in Hope

II. Unity for Hope

III. Seeds of Hope

IV. Prayer in Hope

V. Driven Life

Instrumentation: Violoncello

Duration:10 min

Premiere: Esra Celikten at Spectrum Concert, UNT, Denton, TX, USA March 1, 2010 at 8:00 p.m.